“My own Iliad” Presented at the Athens International Airport

Posted: January 8, 2014 by ACE of Greece in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“My own Iliad” Presented at the Athens International Airport

Entitled “My own Iliad” and dedicated to Homer’s Iliad is the latest exhibition launched at the Athens International Airport “Eleftherios Venizelos”, following its journey at the Archaeological Museum of Delphi and the Archaeological Museum of Ighoumenitsa.

The exhibition includes photographic reproductions of 10 out of the 35 sketches with pencil on paper created by the Cypriot painter George Koumouros. The drawings enter into dialogue with an equal number of episodes from the worldwide known epic poem. A video projection, presenting a number of sketches followed by detailed captions as well as extensive literary notes, by distinguished scholars, with reference to the protagonists and the events of the Homeric Iliad; aiming to sensitize the visitors in the eternal values and the universal messages of the Homeric works.

My Own Iliad” is being hosted at the airport’s “Art & Culture” space and will be open on a 24hour basis daily at the “Art & Culture” space at the Arrivals’ Level of the AIA. Up to now over 56 exhibitions and visual arts projects have taken place at the airport, aiming to offer a special artistic and cultural experience and promote the Greek culture and civilization to all visitors traveling to and from Athens.

Here is what the artist, George Koumouros, had to say about his art work:
“… Recently, I had to draw strength from the myths. Or, rather, to hide inside mythical forms in order to continue to exist and endure. I had to dig deep within me to find the ideas beneath the words. Curiously, I re-encountered Homer, my ‘own’ Iliad at its roots. That is, the Iliad of my childhood, which extrapolated over time into contemporary situations. Individual or collective.

In difficult times, where I could have only a piece of paper and a pencil in my hands, I created sketches. Black and white. Lights and shadows only. A long and lonely route through Homer’s passageways. I followed it, as I did when I was a child, without prejudice, without commitments, without conventions and handed-down morals. So, I wove the myth from the beginning, encountering my ‘own’ Iliad; yet, with Homer always present to judge me and offer me counsel.”

Comments
  1. URL says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Informations here: aceofgreece.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/my-own-iliad-presented-at-the-athens-international-airport/ […]

Leave a Reply

